First of all I want to thank every single one of you who took the time to read my first post about the blackberries. It really does mean a lot. I know how tight everyone’s time is & how sometimes there really are not enough hours in the day. I have started experimenting with gluten free cooking to support my sister in law who had gone gluten free for health reasons. It’s breakfast time here so here’s a breakfast I had before all this hot weather set in.

Scrambled eggs & toast spread with blackberry ‘almost jam’😋

I’ll not be promising to write a post everyday, but writing this one on my phone is so easy compared with writing on the laptop😉This is the way forward from now on😌I noticed that the blackberry blog post written yesterday on the laptop, did not read well on the phone.. let me know what you felt about it🤷‍♀️with this one I haven’t worked out how to change the fonts size, shape or colour. Boring black I’m afraid🤷‍♀️

Flour free chocolate cakes😋

Not the best picture I know, but I forgot to take a photograph ‘till they were about to be eaten 🤦🏼‍♀️Now these do not look good I know, but as with everything I make it’s all about the taste😋these taste amazing. They have a lovely squidgy texture & the chocolate taste is much more intense than you get with a sponge chocolate cake. They can be decorated, but really all they need is a scoop of your favourite ice cream, sour cream or creme fraiche😋 I promise they really are quick & easy to make…So the most important thing the recipe. I’m afraid I can not credit this to anyone as it is a recipe of my grandmothers. She called it Parisian chocolate cake & it did originally have a tablespoon of plain flour sprinkled in with the egg whites, but it works just as well without it & that way it is truly gluten free. I don’t use a specific cooking chocolate just any good quality chocolate that I like the taste of. Green & Blacks is my favourite at the moment. They make so many flavours… the orange one works well with Terrys chocolate orange for my orange cake….. but that’s for another day😂……………

Melting the chocolate & butter.
The egg yolks & sugar will whip up quickly
A tip for when whipping egg whites, wipe the bowl with a little white wine vinegar. It makes sure the bowl is sparkling clean.
Use a metal spoon or spatula & get those egg whites combined with the chocolate as quick as you can. Scoop from the bottom of the bowl, as the chocolate mixture is heavy.
Get the mixture into the tins & into the oven as quickly as possible… check when you first smell them cooking.. they may not need the full 25 mins
Out of the oven & they are already beginning to sink

So here we go…..melt 200g of plain chocolate & 125g of butter in a bowl over a pan of hot water…stir until it is all melted. Remove the bowl from the pan and leave on one side whilst you separate 6 large eggs… the yolks into a bowl with 120g of sugar & whisk by hand until thick & pale… the whites into a bowl and whisk until stiff…. I use an electric mixer for this…. then combine the chocolate mixture with the yolks… stirring all the time then add the egg whites stir quickly to avoid loosing the air in the whites pop into either two tins for cakes like mine… which I cooked in two 8” tins or in one deep tin … cook for about 25 mins at 180 /350 deg. When cooked tip out of tin & allow to cool. This cake is best left at least half a day… more if you can bear it. Like brownies.. the longer it’s left the better it tastes….it will be well risen when it comes out of the oven & cracked, but it will sink & settle….. enjoy😋

Ingredients

  • Heat oven to 180/350deg
  • 200g plain/dark chocolate at least 70%
  • 125g butter
  • 120g sugar
  • 6 large eggs
  • 2 x 8” cake tins or silicone moulds or one deep large one

Method

  • Melt butter & chocolate in a bowl over hot water. Stir well & set aside to cool.
  • Separate the eggs into two large bowls. Whip the whites until stiff
  • Add the sugar to the yolks and whisk until thick & pale
  • Stir the chocolate into the yolks then quickly stir in the whites to avoid losing air
  • Pour into tins and bake for 25 mins

I hope you enjoy this cake as much as we do…. Follow me so you never miss a recipe. Please leave a comment.. good or bad… if you need help don’t hesitate to get in touch either leave a message here or find me on Twitter…. Happy Baking everyone 😋

Leave a comment