This is the first crocheting I’ve started since last September. Up until then I’d always have something on my hook, but during lockdown I didn’t do anything. I’m not sure why. It seemed the more time I had, the less I did. These past three days I’m back to it and I’m so pleased. I feel so relaxed.

I’m not saying that crochet is totally responsible for my chilled outlook, as at long last the summer weather is here and that could have a lot to do with my mood. Being able to chat in person, face to face, even hug with my friends has had a lot to do with my laid back mood too. Although I shall still be keeping myself very much away from crowds for a long while yet.

But credit where credit is due, crochet does relax me. I do it whilst chatting, whilst watching the TV. I prefer freeform patterns that evolve on the hook. This blanket is done in double knitting weight yarn, with a 4.5cm hook. Ideally I like to use a 4cm, but I couldn’t find any. I am lucky, I have a garden full of birdsong, where I can sit chatting to friends and family whilst I crochet.

A Jumble of Lovies

These were such a lot of fun to make and so popular I have lost count of how many I have made.

I like working in cotton as well. Making hats, bags, dish cloths and wash cloths. The shower scrubby, make up scrubs, face cloth & soap saver were very popular. All machine washable & still used now. The next project on my mind is to make scourers out of the orange nets used to pack onion. It may work, it may not, but at least I will have tried. I am really trying to live a life free from as many single use disposable things as possible.

Elsa Hat

I made so many of these. A very popular stocking filler that year.

I was very pleased with the way my window hanging worked out, it’s faded now as the kitchen window gets all the afternoon sun, but still looks stunning. When I think of all the things I’ve made over the years, I wonder why I haven’t done any this past year. The last thing I did was this blanket

It kept me warm and snuggly this past winter, on chilly nights. I love having blankets to snuggle up in on the sofas. The weather in UK changes so quickly though. Last week I was still wrapping my feet up in this and yet, this week the sun has come out and a woolly blanket is the last thing anyone needs.

I Am feeling so nostalgic after writing about my previous projects. I am determined I’m going to stick at it now. I already have a new project. I have been asked to make crocheted cochlear implants for Teddy Bears. It’s been put on hold until soft toys are again allowed in schools…….but watch this space…..I’m still working on the pattern….

What ever you do, make time to relax. Love M. XXX

Leave a comment